Facebook Scams

If you follow news stories linked to online safety you might have heard about the Facebook ‘porn links’ scam. Over 100,000 Facebook users have apparently had their accounts infected in the last week. Basically users see a post from a friend with a link to adult content. When they click it they are taken to a video, it plays for a few seconds before prompting them to download a Flash update, to enable them to watch the rest of the clip. When they click the update link they inadvertently download malware.

Malware is short for malicious software. If you want detailed information Google it, but in simple terms Malware is software designed with a malicious intent. Its prime purpose is to do something bad to your system.

It will look innocent and it can mimic legitimate applications or appear as a message, post or links to interesting content and videos shared by friends. However, it’s like a conman; creating the appearance of being something it is not. It wants you to open the door to your system and once you do it unleashes its malicious intent. Once inside your device it will damage it, collect and or share your personal information, send posts to your contacts and use ‘you’ to spread its viruses.

In the Facebook scam the malware starts posting links to apparent adult content, tagging up to 20 of your friends at a time. Tagging accelerates the spread as friends of your friends can see it and therefore the distribution of the infection is increased.

If you see a post shared by a friend linking to adult content it is more than likely a malware scam, it pays to be suspicious. So DON’T CLICK, the LINK, B4U THINK.

Our advice is not to click on any adult content links in Facebook at anytime. Given this current scam you need to be particularly careful, as doing so could infect your hardware and tag your friends. This not only opens them up to infection but in this instance tells everyone that you clicked on that particular site in the first place.

Don’t click on links to Adult content on Facebook or other social media sites.

 

ONLY download Flash Player or similar software from official sites.

 

Be more cautious with shortened links, tiny urls are useful but it is harder to assess where they will take you without expanding them.

Set your Facebook privacy settings to preview posts you are tagged in.

 

Examine notifications, check icons and phrases are authentic, not just similar to those you normally see. IF IN DOUBT DELETE.

 

If you click a notification and are then prompted to allow access to your profile NEVER click allow.

If you are a registered h2bsafer Online SSNAP user, a new card will be issued shortly.